26
Ene
15

the fatted calf diet

There are some disadvantages to a BMI of 22! i’ve often been the brunt of jokes for how cold I can be.

Special forces arre not twigs. They bulk up in preparation for an operation to have the strength and resources they need to complete their mission. Although mentally I have a lot of endurance, I’ve thought that I wouldn’t last long like Corrie ten Boom did in a concentration camp or other such situation.

These last few months I had observed how much slower I had become. Exercises and activities tthat were nothing two years ago were becoming increasingly difficult. I thought, “Maybe the effect of my age.” However, other women in the same age bracket seemed to be able to do so much more than me.

I really wasn’t in the habit of paying much attention to my weight. I just tried to be moderate in what I’d eat. While many people were talking about having to lose weight after the holidays, that was not a concern for me. So now in the face of my upcoming treatment I find myself making an effort to put on some weight. Here in January, Christians often take time to fast and seek the Lord in the new year. I, on the other hand, have found myself in the position of eating as much as I can as often as I can. I call it the fatted calf diet, like fattening up an animal in preparation for a celebration or feast.

Surprisingly, I’ve had a great appetite, but it’s not as easy as it would seem to eat lots of goodies and extra protein. It’s something I’m going to need to continue in the coming weeks whether I’m hungry or not. I’m going to need the strength!

0 Responses to “the fatted calf diet”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

