20
Mar
15

More: signs, symptoms, side effects & preventatives

Preventative Measures~
To lessen common side effects of chemotherapy, “premeds” are administered in the IV before the actual chemo which usually include benadryl, a steroid, and a drug to prevent nausea. I absolutely despised what the benadryl did to my head, not to mention the restless leg syndrome it produced in me-as it does to many people. Even subsequent to disconnecting the IV!

After bleeding, nausea is ESSENTIAL to control. Beside receiving that preliminary dose to prevent nausea/vomitting during each chemotherapy, we immediately filled a prescription and strictly adhered to our instructions to stay on top of it and take the medication at the first sign of it. Following the overnight desensitized treament, my doctor’s partner recommended that this time I take it continually for a couple days, starting that evening after discharge. Due to the higher concentration, this seemed prudent. Since it’s important to keep food down, and regular bowel movements, the goal is to stop vomitting before it starts!

TMI???

As I began to deal with my condition when I was first admitted to the hospital, the Lord ministered this passage to me.

Isaiah 43:1-3
Fear not; for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by my name; thou art mine.
When thou passest through the waters, I WILL BE WITH THEE; and through the rivers, they shall not over flow thee; when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned, neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.
For I am the Lord thy God.

Singing a couple old songs containing these verses helped me to reflect on what He was saying to me in the midst of it all. At this juncture God was emphasizing to me that He IS with me. EMMANUEL

Also in

Psalm 23:4
I will fear no evil, for THOU ART WITH ME; thy rod and thy staff comfort me.

These are two blades of the weaponry I used in recent battle. There have been numerous skirmishes during the last three months; it’s not a matter of fighting one time and DONE. Above all we need something to anchor our thoughts so having done ALL to stand, (we) stand.

Two elements in being able to remain firm are the God Factor and the Man Factor. At this moment in time, the God Factor was His assurance to be with me. Both factors can vary throughout our struggle. Your being aware of someone’s situation makes up part of the Man Factor. One does not have to do or say much to make a difference when a person is struggling.

0 Responses to “More: signs, symptoms, side effects & preventatives”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

