24
Abr
15

taste ‘n see

This last chemo experience was the best I’ve had so far. Even though some of the side effects/symptoms occurred, treatment did not need to be stopped and restarted. What eased this desensitized chemo: probably the extended run time of the first two bags of taxol, an adjustment in the total dose, and adding an additional amount of “premeds” to deal with my sensitivities. We were so happy to get home in time for dinner Friday and for the “overnight” procedure to have actually lasted only one night in the hospital!

As an active Christian, our thoughts, convictions, behavior, and worldview reflect our faith. We have expectations in life colored by the lens of our belief system. Since I believe God is good and willing to work His will in my life, I expect healing (according to Isa.53:5). And although all the medical indicators show improvement, neither these signs nor how I feel is the evidence. It’s not my proof. We have to be equally convinced whether we feel good or bad. Whether we have improved or not!

11)But Naaman was angry and went away, saying, “Behold, I thought that he would surely come out to me and stand and call upon the name of the LORD his God, and wave his hand over the place and cure the leprosy. 12)Are not Abana and Pharpar, the rivers of Damascus, better than all the waters of Israel? Could I not wash in them and be clean?” So he turned and went away in a rage. 13)But his servants came near and said to him, “My father, if the prophet had spoken to you a great thing, would you not do it? How much more then when he said to you, ‘Wash, and be clean? 2 Kings 5:11-13

In my way of thinking, it would be a better testimony to receive a miracle or to see prayer answered. But I guess God knows how to glorify His name better than anyone else. I have a strong sense of being Naaman submitting himself and dipping in the Jordan seven times as I walk through my prescribed program of treatment.
If God would ask a great thing of me I would do it! But for now, I do what I know to do as I wait for Him to play His hand.

0 Responses to “taste ‘n see”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

