30
May
15

Surrender vs. Consecration

When I woke up the next day I was tired and uncomfortable and realized that I had not prepared myself for the residual pain and aftereffects of the surgery. (An immediate adjustment was made on that front.) There was a catheter in my back administering a continual epidural. The nine inch incision snaking down the center of my abdomen, held together with staples, looked like a twisty zipper! Top it all off with a stretchy corset around my mid-section for support closed by velcro.
There were several visitors that day, which was a good thing. On Sunday I threw up quite a few times and felt pretty crummy.

Most Christians are sincere in their desire “to do the right thing” and please God, but do not know where to start. The worldwide Pentecostal outpouring at the turn of he 20th century awakened a heightened sensitivity to the voice of the Holy Spirit. People began to hear God’s direction in a stronger, more evident and vibrant way. The finger of the Spirit touched and pointed out areas of life inconsistent with God’s character. When the power of God dealt so mightily with a person, it was pretty easy to shed some of the unclean garments of the past. This produced a new holiness, a higher standard. And people took notice!

Today, as we take the Person of the Holy Spirit for granted, this standard of holiness has become a mere set of rules to follow: don’t touch, don’t look, don’t do. Obeying the Ten Commandments is a good place to start, but there is so much more to following God. As a young Christian I felt conviction about some albums in my house, so I broke them. This was not a case of being told I should not have/listen to XYZ music because it was ungodly. I chose to respond to a tugging in my heart.

When a person fights the inner conviction, God’s dealing becomes stronger until we choose to “give up” or harden our hearts. Today’s standards of proper behavior are so low that some people are convinced wrong is right. Others get caught up in the enjoyment of yielding (surrender) to the flesh. We can go up to the altar crying, singing, lifting our hands “in surrender” which makes us feel good. “I’m doing what’s right”, when in reality continue to fulfill own goals/desires. God does not want you to fight with Him to give up the flesh. He wants a consecrated, set apart life.
Jesus challenged Saul/Paul, Why do you continue to kick against the pricks? Like the Psalmist, say I desire to do your will. As David planned his battles, he sought the Lord at EVERY turn: What do I do?
Psalm 32:9 Be not like the horse, or like the mule, that have no understanding, whose mouth must be held in with bit and bridle.

0 Responses to “Surrender vs. Consecration”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

