29
Oct
15

Pre-Maintenance Testing Today

As we are preparing for my maintenance program to start next week with Avastin, another Cat scan was scheduled for my doctor to have the up-to-date information she needs to organize treatment in this next phase. We are anticipating its results will confirm all the positive indications received so far.

This last desensitized chemo was the easiest, freest stay in the hospital, but bouncing back to normal has been the slowest. My digestive system was sluggish for an abnormal (to me) amount of time after coming home. Additionally, the neuropathy I experienced extended farther than previously. At the same time, the lack of sensitivity was less acute than the most intense occurence. Also, some of the new hair growth has vanished. We’ll see in the next day or two if there’s another bout of “shedding.” At any rate the temperature drop hasn’t helped my head stay warm!

“Don’t be afraid, for I have redeemed you. I have called you by your name. You are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned, and flame will not scorch you.” Isa 43:1, 2 (WEB)

This is the passage the Lord emphasized to me concerning this illness when I was initially hospitalized in January. These are the main verses I was standing on as I passed through the pre-op chemo to shrink the cancer, through the river of surgery to remove all visible signs, and walking through the fire of the follow-up chemo to destroy the microscopic cells that could be scattered somewhere in my body. Now, entering the maintenance program designed to reduce the projected percentage rate of recurrence, I will rest on the last phrase.

Every day, for the rest of my life, I need to stand on that. Be alert. Be vigilant!

Stand with me…

See more about staying on guard in my 12 Step Prayer Plan post and YouTube video. 

As the song and the Scripture go,

Neither shall the flame kindle upon you…

Amen??!!!

###

0 Responses to “Pre-Maintenance Testing Today”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

