02
Nov
15

#Carl’s birthday…

…Is today. We BBQ’d ribs for his birthday dinner Sunday, and

Whew!

Lots of appointments, etc. to fit into a normally uneventful schedule!

… starting with

  • the six month check up at the cardiologist’s office who monitors the blood thinner dose prescribed for the blood clots. Not as much progress there as I would like. That same day I made the rounds to several doctors offices in search of a new primary care physician (pcp), a concern I’ve never really had before.

I did find someone that I thought would work, so

  • I had to call to change the PCP over with my healthcare provider then make the appointment for my initial consultation in that office. Because I now have that taken care of I contacted the genetic consultant my oncologist wants me to meet with for an appointment and the insurance to verify coverage.

Today, Carl’s birthday,

  • we went to the lab for the bloodwork needed to stop off
  • at the oncologist Thursday and then pop down to St. John’s Infusion Center for
  • the first maintenance treatment. A possible side effect of the new medication, Avastin, is high blood pressure. So
  • I need to go open an account with a medical supply store to be able to get the blood machine the cardiologist prescribed. Next week
  • I go back for blood test for the COUmadin/Warfarin (blood thinner) and have appointments
  • with the new doc and
  • the genetics consultation.

I’ve had more contact with doctors, and labs, and hospitals than I have had previously during my whole life combined!

I really think this is a ploy to keep us occupied so that we cannot dedicate ourselves to the ministry that God has placed in our hearts. One thing is for certain, I can certainly identify better with people having chronic and sometimes very serious health issues…

2Co 1:3, 4 says,

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort;

who comforts us in all our affliction, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, through the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. (WEB)

At times God seems distant and it is difficult to receive the comfort He offers us. After all, we live in an earthly body and often our awareness of the physical supercedes our sense of the spiritual. God often uses the compassion of a brother or sister who is present to minister to us in our need. We do need to remember that He is still there and sees us (El Roi). Read Genesis 16:13 where the suffering slave Hagar has an encounter and recognizes Him.

2Co 1:9, 10

that we should not trust in ourselves, but in God who raises the dead, who delivered us out of so great a death, and does deliver; on whom we have set our hope that he will also still deliver us; (WEB)

Ultimately, our confidence must rest in God (Heb. 10:23). Sarah did (Heb. 11:11)

2Co 1:7 Our hope for you is steadfast, knowing that, since you are partakers of the sufferings, so also are you of the comfort. (WEB)

…You may have a story how God was faithful that would encourage others. Why not let us share it here?

###

0 Responses to “#Carl’s birthday…”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

