31
Dic
15

ebbing tide faith

faith in/out

For a while now, I’ve been doing my morning “devotions” using Bible translations on my tablet. However, recently I’ve had the urge to go back to my paper study Bible. It has center column references to direct me to related verses, words, or a chain of passages about that word/topic. Very helpful in deepening one’s effort to acquire knowledge.

I started reading Breaking Free: Discover the Victory of Total Surrender by Beth Moore to prepare for divine deliverances (see Isaiah 58) during the “January Fast.” On page 2, she talked about Gideon, found in Judges 6. So I went to the Scofield Reference Bible I’ve had since 1984. (Carl bought it to replace the one I got in 1976 when I became a Christian.)

Jg 6:23 Yahweh said to him, Peace be to you; don’t be afraid: you shall not die. (WEB)

This is marvelous to me, because I had underlined the last part of the verse and jotted a note:

fear not; thou shalt not die

note: i.e. June 13

The date June 13 referred to a word I received in 2011 about an attack coming on my life-a dual warning about our December 9 carjacking in Guatemala that year and 2015’s cancer threat. For an example of a dual prophecy in the Bible, take a look at Isaiah 7:14 which is one of many OT prophecies about the coming Messiah.

Side note: Messianic Prophecy is one of my fav studies which I’ll elaborate a bit on in my soon-to-be-published Prepare Him Room, a booklet of 31 Old Testament verses and their New Testament fulfillment that can be used as a monthly devotional.

ebbing tide faith

…it goes in and out. Not just yours, everybody’s! Including pastors, Bible teachers, and ministers. The above verse in Judges 6:23 (not a frequently read book) was underlined in that Bible sometime in 2011. When I read it and highlighted the verse a quickening took place in my heart alluding to God’s admonition to be vigilant! Today it’s like a vitamin fortifying my faith so that “having done all to stand,” I stand firm.

YOU can, too.

Heb 4:12 For the word of God is living, and active [quick and powerful, KJV], and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing even to the dividing of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and is able to discern the thoughts and intentions of the heart. (WEB)

I don’t/cannot stand on the force of my own strength. I need the Word of God. Jesus, Himself, fought with God’s Word (Luke 4). You must, too.

Fundación Efraín is Equipping the Saints for the Work of the Ministry through its WordPress blogs, discipleship material, and sharing God’s Word.

Neither shall the flame kindle upon you…

Amen??!!!

###

0 Responses to “ebbing tide faith”



  1. Dejar un comentario

Responder

